Admin Job Chains

From Obsidian Scheduler
(Redirected from Job Chains)
Jump to: navigation, search

Job chains allow you to trigger job execution when another job completes or transitions to a terminal state. This screen can be accessed by all users from the primary navigation sidebar, underneath the Configuration parent menu item.

Contents

Job Chain Listing

The initial job chain screen shows a listing of configured chains. You may optionally filter by selecting one or more source jobs to see which jobs are chained from those selected jobs. Selecting no jobs is equivalent to choosing all of them. Selected options may be cleared by clicking the (X) next to the dropdown arrow. Click Search to refresh the results table.

Clicking the description in the table will bring you to the edit screen.

To create a new chain, click the (+) button in the table header.

ViewChains 4.0.png

Chain Tree View

Complex chain setups can be difficult to understand at times. To facilitate understanding how the chains relate to each other, Obsidian provides a tree view of chains. Click on the View Tree link at the top right of the chain listing table to view the tree diagram.

Enabled jobs are always shown as a root job in addition to any chain source jobs not found in another tree. If a job is not Enabled and is found in another chain tree, it will not be shown as a root job.

Asterisks (*) mark jobs that will not be executed due to their current job state (e.g. Disabled or Ad Hoc Active).

Hash signs (#) mark the target job of a chain that is not currently active.

.ViewChainTree 4.0.png

Adding or Updating a Job Chain

When adding or updating a job chain, a source and target job must be selected, along with at least one trigger state.

The source job indicates the job whose completion will trigger the target job to be run.

The trigger states indicate which source job termination states will trigger the target job run. Default trigger states are selected when creating a new chain since they are the commonly used options, but they may be changed to whatever is required.

A description is optional for use in the chain listing. A description is generated if none is provided.

A schedule is optional and can be specified to restrict which times the target job may be spawned - if the source job terminates at a time that doesn't match the schedule, the target job will not be created.

When Conditional is selected as a trigger state, you must specify one or more conditions. In addition, only one of the Completed and Conditional state may be selected. See the Conditional Chaining Configuration below for more details on saving Conditional triggers.

Note: The question mark icon that appears next to the form title indicates inline help. Click on the icon to see help related to the current page.

ChainEdit 4.0.png

Conditional Chaining Configuration

Conditional triggers are similar to Completed triggers, in that they only fire when a job successfully completes. The Conditional state, however, lets you indicate various output conditions which determine if the chain is triggered.

If you select the Conditional trigger state, the Result Conditions area will be revealed below the state selector. In this section, you must specify at least one condition which is used to determine if the chain will fire. Each condition must be matched for the chain to be triggered. See Chaining for complete details on how conditional chaining works.

Each condition has the following fields, all of which are mandatory when presented: Variable Name, Operator, and Value. Note that the Value field is not shown for the Exists/Not Exists operators, and supports multiple values for the In/Not In operators.

To add an extra condition, click the Add Condition button. To remove an unwanted condition, click the Remove button at the bottom of that condition.

When using In/Not In operators, you may specify one or more values. To add a value, click the (+) button to the right of the value field. To remove an unwanted value, click the trash button on the right.

Always ensure you click the Save button to confirm your changes and validate your conditions.

ChainConditions 4.0.png

Confirming Changes

Once you've completed your desired changes, click the Save button at the bottom of the form. You will either receive a save confirmation message as below, or a validation error message.

ChainSave 4.0.png

Deleting

We recommend you use the delete feature sparingly. It is typically most useful on long-obsolete chains. When you attempt to delete a job chain, Obsidian will ask for your confirmation.

Deleting a job chain in Obsidian assumes you are fine with losing the chaining evaluation results. Jobs will continue to show as either Chained or Chain Skipped, but the evaluation details will no longer be available.

ChainDelete 4.0.png