Admin User Management

From Obsidian Scheduler
Jump to: navigation, search

User management can be accessed by Admin users from the primary navigation sidebar. The current user may view their rights and/or change their password by using the user name drop-down in the top right corner of the screen.

All users may see their current rights. In addition, if native authentication is used, all users may change their password. Admin users may also view and manage users when native authentication is used.

Viewing Rights & Changing Your Password

Selecting My User from the user name dropdown in the top right of the screen will bring you to the page which lists your user rights. If native authentication is used, you may also change your password from this page.

UserChangePassword 4.0.png


UserChangePasswordFull 4.0.png

Listing Users

Admin users may view current users, add users, and update settings and passwords of existing users.

UserListing 4.0.png


Exporting Results

The current contents of the table can be exported to Excel, CSV or XML by clicking on export icon displayed at the far right of the table header. The download will automatically begin and will include all pages of the current table of results.


Changing or Adding Users

Clicking the (+) button in the table header will bring you to the New User screen. Clicking a user in the table will allow you to edit or view a user. For security reasons, you must always enter your current user password to make user changes.

Note: The question mark icon that appears next to the form title indicates inline help. Click on the icon to see help related to the current page.

AddUserSave 4.0.png


When saving changes, you may receive error notifications. In this case, no changes were saved and you may correct your user setup and resubmit.

Note: When editing existing users, you may change their password by entering the new password and confirmation. If you leave both blank, the password will remain unchanged.


AddUserEnterPassword 4.0.png

Deleting Users

You can also delete users from the edit page. For security reasons, you must always enter your current user password before deleting a user. You will be prompted to confirm the delete action.

Note: Deleting users can make tracking down who made changes more difficult. Consider making a user inactive instead.

DeleteUser 4.0.png

User Rights

Rights are broken out into these categories: Default (read), Write, Admin and API Access. In addition, as starting with Obsidian 2.0, Default read access can be limited using the Limited Read Access setting.

Default rights allow you read access to most parts of the application, with the exception of user lists and the Scheduler Settings screen.

Write rights allow you perform most operations, with the exception of viewing and changing users, and the Scheduler Settings screen.

Admin rights allow you access to view and change Scheduler Settings, pause/resume scheduler hosts and manage users.

API Access grants the user the ability to use the full REST API. In addition, this role grants the Default read access to the admin application.

Limited Read Access prevents the user from seeing potentially sensitive job configuration parameters. If you wish to hide these values from a user, grant them this right, otherwise leave it unselected. Note that if a user has Write or API Access, this setting has no effect.